How Grand…

I’ve wanted to visit the Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque since the first time I drove to Abu Dhabi for a work trip and this weekend I finally had the time.Please excuse my horrendous attire, I forgot to bring cover-ups (not that I’ve lived here long enough to know that or anything) so had to scavange for what I had left in the car. I assure you my outfit underneath was acceptable!

Image

DSC00790

DSC00844

DSC00840

As many of you know I love a a good fact and any unique/useless educational information so here are some I learnt today:

  • the mosque’s first ceremony was the funeral of Sheikh Zayed (hence the name) who is buried at the site
  • it holds the world’s largest hand knotted carpet (told you they would be useless)
  • the main prayer hall holds the largest chandelier in the world (10 metres in diameter, 15 metres in height) weighing twelve tonnes
  • it can hold 40,000 worshippers at one time (that’s a serious sized shoe cabinet outside

Loopy Loo x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

